Dr. Wayland Marks Gratitude Award and Outstanding 1st Responder Award

Dr. Wayland Marks accepting the Gratitude Award

Wayland Marks accepting the Gratitude Award

On November 7, 2012, Partners in Aging (PiA) awarded its first annual Gratitude Award to Dr. Wayland Marks. Dr. Marks has always had a passion for providing care to the older members of our community, and he was one of the first physicians to obtain the American Board of Internal Medicine Certificate of Added Qualifications in Geriatrics. To honor the recently retired Dr. Marks, the award has been renamed the Dr. Wayland Marks Gratitude Award and will be given annually to a person who exemplifies the principal of advocating for the senior population of Fredericksburg.

The 2017 award was given to Karl Karch, a charter member of Partners in Aging, and advocate for older adults in our community through his business, Home Instead Senior Care.

Karl Karch and members of the Home Instead Senior Care staff. Karl and his wife Roberta (to his left) have owned the local franchise for many years and have been advocates for the aging population from the start.

Past Dr. Wayland Marks Gratitude Award winners are:

2013 – Valerie Hopson-Bell, Eldercare Connections

2014 – Neda McGuire, Comfort Keepers

2015 – Betty Bazemore, Spotsylvania Department of Social Services (posthumously)

2016 – Patricia Holland, Rappahannock Area Agency on Aging

This year’s event included the presentation of the Outstanding 1st Responder Award. The award will be given annually to someone who has gone above and beyond their job description in providing public safety to the areas senior community. The first Outstanding 1st Responder Award was given to Stafford County’s Detective Angelo Irizarry. His continued investigation of a former nurse’s aide, led to her arrest for the theft of over $18,000 from 2 seniors in Stafford County. She will spend 7 years in prison for this crime. Additionally, Det. Irizarry’s work led to her further arrests in Fredericksburg and Spotsylvania. His tireless effort to protect the community’s seniors has not gone unnoticed.

Detective Angelo Irizarry with Captain George Bond and First Sergeant Michelle Gibbons


The next award ceremony will be November 2018.